I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 77

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio Frank F. Blas, Jr. <u>Edward J.B. Calvo</u> James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki J. A. Lujan Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio David L.G. Shimizu A. R. Unpingco J. T. Won Pat

Relative to recognizing and congratulating Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins for his achievements as Commander of the 44th Aerial Port Squadron and for his contributions to the island of Guam.

1 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF *I* 2 *MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN*:

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins was born in Ironton, Ohio, and graduated from Gallia Academy High School, Gallipolis, Ohio. In 1987, he graduated from Regents College earning his Bachelor of Science Degree in Liberal Studies and completed the Army Aviation Officers Advanced Course in Fort Rucker, Alabama. In 1999, he completed his Joint
 Firepower Command and Control Course at Nellis Air Force Base, Nevada
 and the Joint Aerospace Command and Control Course at Hurlbert Field,
 Florida in 2002; and

5 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins is a senior pilot 6 qualified in flying several types of rotary wing aircraft such as the TH-55, UH-7 1H, CH47A, CH47B and the CH47C. He has served in the United States 8 Armed Forces since 1974; and

9 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins is the Commander of 10 the 44th Aerial Port Squadron, Andersen Air Force Base, Guam. This unit is a 11 geographically separated unit aligned under the 624th Regional Support 12 Group located at Hickam Air Force Base Hawaii. He is responsible for 13 deployable readiness and training state of over two hundred (200) personnel 14 providing invaluable mission support to Andersen Air Force Base and 15 worldwide deployments; and

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins has been decorated
and awarded the Meritorious Service Medal, the Army Commendation
Medal, the Army Achievement Medal with two (2) Oak Leaf Clusters and the
Army Good Conduct Medal; and

WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins is Guam's Resident Agent in charge of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. He provided team training in Tactics and Firearms, and developed a cohesive team with the Violent Street Crimes Unit of the Guam Police Department reducing the violent gun crimes on Guam. He also provided training for

2

Guam's Law Enforcement Personnel in Project Safe Neighborhood, (Anti)
 Trafficking of Firearms and Post Blast Explosives Scene, while fostering a
 close relationship between local and Department of Defense entities. He
 assisted the Federated States of Micronesia with Firearms Trafficking and
 Recognition Training; and

6 WHEREAS, Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins continuously gives of
7 himself to the community by supporting the American Cancer Society's Relay
8 for Life annually; now, therefore, be it

9 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na* 10 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 11 people of Guam, express our heartfelt appreciation and *Un Dångkolo Na Si* 12 *Yu'os Ma'åse*, to Lieutenant Colonel Kraig E. Hankins for his exemplary 13 leadership and improving the quality of life for the people of Guam and the 14 region; and be it further

15 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive 16 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption 17 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Lieutenant 18 Colonel Kraig E. Hankins, Commander, 44th Aerial Port Squadron; to 19 Brigadier General Douglas H. Owens, Commander, Andersen Air Force Base, 20 Guam; and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

3

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 18TH DAY OF MAY 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker and Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO Senator and Secretary of the Legislature